kmfkwee.blogg.se

How to refresh a formatted floppy disk
How to refresh a formatted floppy disk









how to refresh a formatted floppy disk

I tried to make it boot by formatting a 2S/HD floppy disk in a 1.2MB drive (using the magnet wipe method, 'format a: /4' command, and sys-ed it with DOS 6.22). I had to refresh the grease on the head slider mechanism, and also cleaned the heads.

how to refresh a formatted floppy disk

It has two 20MB HDDs and one floppy drive - the BASF 6129. Unlike AT and newer stuff, I have very little experience booting XTs. NiCd battery had leaked (on the IO/RTC board), but fortunately the damage was minor and easy to repair. I recently acquired a mint condition PC-XT clone (case only, no monitor) with one of those generic Turbo-XT 8088 IBM clone boards with 640kB RAM. I've been low on storage space at the time when cases for these were much more abundant than today, so unfortunately I ended up with much more boards than cases to install them into. Over time I accumulated a handful of AT and some XT boards, MFM/RLL disks and controllers, and the associated cards from that era.

how to refresh a formatted floppy disk

Given the limited free time for this hobby I try to keep my item collection small, but have everything in working order if possible. I restore all kinds of vintage electronics, from TVs and radios to lab instruments and computer hardware. Been reading this forum for a while, so it's about time to join.











How to refresh a formatted floppy disk